Complaints Reviews Tips Advices Memories Splash Punta Cana Resort

  • Item / Content Number : # 1228 3 times viewed.
  • Check with seller
    • Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Complaints Reviews Tips Advices Memories Splash Punta Cana Resort

May I start my review by giving you some background information on our travel group. Our group consisted of 16 people with 7 rooms; two triples, and 5 doubles. We started booking rooms for Memories splash in August 2017. As group leader I made my booking on August 23, 2017. At the time of my booking I requested king bedding. Our trip date was for April 27, 2018 and this request was made on August 23, 2017. This request was made almost 8 months in advance of our arrival. We arrived at Memories and were shown to our room which was a room with 2 queens. Mind you I had requested a king room.

When requested a change to a king room, we were told none were available. After my husband complained and made a squabble we were told we would be moved in two days. We were assured by the Diamond Club manager Stephanie that we would be moved to a very nice quiet room with king bedding. Also, she said she had made room assignments two weeks before. In my mind how do you assign a queen room when you have a room request for a king that was submitted 8 months prior? We had another party in our group who had made their reservations three weeks before and requested a king room and were given a king room?? We were move three days later and were moved to building 8 facing the road with plenty of road noise, children running and crying in the halls and bouncing above our heads.

Plus, at night we had the nightly outdoor entertainment going on outside our patio door. Quiet, I don’t think so. During check in you are given a form that ask for your liquor preference to be delivered to your room. We received a bottle of liquor, but it was not what we ordered. When asked by members of our group when we would receive our bottles we were given several different answers by the Diamond Club staff. Some members of our group received their bottles on the day we were leaving after complaints were made. Dining – On our first night we ate at the buffet it was ok.

The second night we ate at Under the Sea. One person in our party arrived before us and was seated. It took forever for our waiter to take our order and serve our food. While waiting for our food, we ask the waiter for a salad that my husband and I could share. We never received it. I could understand if the restaurant had been full and they were busy, but it wasn’t. The food taste like it had been under a heating lamp and had dried. I would rate the service and food as poor. The third night we ate at the Mexican restaurant. The service was slow, but they were busy.

I ask for my steak to be cooked medium and it was cooked well. I sent it back and they cooked me another steak and it came back medium. It was very good. Breakfast in the Selection Buffet, as I have stated in the other restaurants it appears that they cook the food early and place the food under the heating light which dries the food out. Their hash brown triangles were so hard that you could not get a fork in them, this was a every day occurrence. The bacon was dried to burnt. The lunch buffet that the Memories guest can eat at the Royalton is a step up, but not by much. It has a larger selection of vegetables, which I enjoyed, the food does not appear to have been left sitting under heating lamps for a long time. The same food is served daily.

We had dinner at the Royalton steak house and the steak was very good, but the bake potato was dried out. It appeared it had been cut open and left under the heating light and the inside was dried where it had been exposed. Rooms – Yes, they are a little tired, but not bad. I have stayed in hotels in Europe that were not as nice, this would be an upgrade. I really don’t have any complaints, only we were given queen rooms. Linen – If you are a couple you are given two towels and face cloths and one hand towel.

On several days were only given two towels, no face cloths or hand towel. My husband had tipped the housekeeper and ask her to leave us two sets of towels each day, so we ended up with two towels a piece, and nothing else. Truly there is a disconnect. After returning from a day cruise and beach time I called for face cloths and a floor tile and waited one and half hours before receiving them after several calls. What can I say, island time? The next morning it was one hour before housekeeping cam with two bath towels and I requested two face cloths and hand towels.

I called twice and asked that I not be kept waiting over an hour as I had been the night before. Why should I have to wait for something that should have been done yesterday? I had tried to request them the night before. I then received a call asking what my request was and I explained I was requesting face and hand towels and would like two sets. The person asks how many people were in my room, I replied two and she question the two sets. Which is another problem, most times when you call guest services, the operator does not answer the phone. This is concerning, suppose there is an emergency, and no one answers. Entertainment - Comparing with the entertainment I had experience in Cuba to Punta Cana, Punta Cana is liking.

I would give it a grade of D. The animation team in Cuba keep everyone involve and they were very likely. The team here seem to be limited. The one reason I chose this hotel was I had stayed at a Memories in Cuba and the service was excellent and the TA reviews for Splash were good. But, our group experience at Splash was not good. Most of our group requested king beds and were given queen rooms. Even if they would have told us doing check in we were not able to accommodate your request, I think most of us would have understood. Liquor request were not fill in a timely or correct manner.

The food was hit or miss. Service was poor. Everyone in our group had the same problems with linen. I can say the staff is very friendly. The Diamond Club manager Stephanie told us that they would be closing the hotel for upgrades and we should give them another chance. Like I told her It wasn’t about the hotel facilities, it is the service. If there is no change in the service, it doesn’t matter about the upgrades. Would I go there again, no.

Published date: November 29, 2018 Publisher / Viewer : Excursions Tours Trips Booking

Vote
Result 0 votes

Useful Informations / Things to Know

  • Avoid scams by acting locally or paying with PayPal
  • Never pay with Western Union, Moneygram or other anonymous payment services
  • Don't buy or sell outside of your country. Don't accept cashier cheques from outside your country
  • This site is never involved in any transaction, and does not handle payments, shipping, guarantee transactions, provide escrow services, or offer "buyer protection" or "seller certification"

Related listings / deals / items

  • Adana Hotels With Water Slides Aquapark Resorts Prices Cheap

    Adana Hotels With Water Slides Aquapark Resorts Prices Cheap

    Resort With Water Slide (Adana) Item / Content Number : # 1611 13times viewed. July 28, 2019 Check with seller

    Adana hotels with water slides aquapark resorts prices cheap last minute deals discounts promotions. Splash water park hotel vacation, holiday accommodations online booking reservation. You want to spend an unforgettable summer holiday near Adana Tur...

  • Muthu Clube Praia da Oura Hotel Algarve Faro Reviews Comments Advices Tips

    Muthu Clube Praia da Oura Hotel Algarve Faro Reviews Comments Advices Tips

    Resort With Water Slide (Faro) Item / Content Number : # 1251 10times viewed. November 29, 2018 Check with seller

    Muthu Clube Praia da Oura Hotel Algarve Faro Reviews Comments Advices Tips Experiences We had a 7 night stay last week , we were arriving around the time the dinning room was closing so I emailed the hotel to ask if it was possible to have a sandwich...

  • Mayor Capo di Corfu Vacation Holiday Packages Cheap Price

    Mayor Capo di Corfu Vacation Holiday Packages Cheap Price

    Resort With Water Slide (Corfu) Item / Content Number : # 1239 26times viewed. November 29, 2018 Check with seller

    Mayor Capo di Corfu Vacation Holiday Packages Cheap Price Overview This hotel offers a laid back and sociable environment directly overlooking a golden sandy beach. An ideal pick for families with young ones, all rooms cater to those with children an...